Parent/Teacher Book Club

Book Club

We would also like to invite parents to join us every 4th Wednesday, beginning 15th September, for our parent/teacher book club where we’ll be reading the same books as your sons in our Reading Canon. The partnership between teachers and parents during adolescence remains an important part of education. The purpose of this book club is to serve as an opportunity to build that partnership and hopefully help parents to encourage reading and discussion at home by sharing a common interest with your sons in the books studied on our reading canon. The timetable for our parent/teacher book club is outlined below:

Date Book Title Focus
Wed 15th September Introduction Beginning survey and discussion around reading
Wed 13th October Curious Incident of the Dog Character creation
Wed 10th November The Kite Runner Sensitive issues in literature
Wed 8th December Kes Behaviour
Wed 12th January Noughts and Crosses Apartheid society
Wed 9th February Noughts and Crosses The power of words to hurt
Wed 9th March The Road Good and evil
Wed 6th April Oliver Twist Classical literature
Wed 4th May Oliver Twist Links to the real world
Wed 8th June Mythos Greek mythology
Wed 6th July Mythos End survey and discussion

In addition, students and parents are now able to borrow eBooks from the exciting new St Aidan’s Bookshelf.

The library catalogue is full of bestselling, popular fiction titles and will offer you and your children a 24/7 access to a digital library in addition to the print library in school. You can have 2 books out on loan at any one time, and they will automatically return after 2 weeks, or you can return them early in order to loan a new book.

website design by Dotty About Design